Week 1 Blog 1: Placing yourself in the Industry

It is difficult to place yourself as a professional into an industry (or industries) as abstract as the music industry. One could very easily argue for a variety of positions – we are all, technically music consumers solely due to the ubiquity of music (DeNora, 2000). Furthermore, one could continue to categorise themselves as a certain type of consumer – Negus makes the differentiation between hard-core and casual music fans (2004).

However, this blog is more concerned with identification from a professional standpoint. I believe from an outside perspective, I would first and foremost be seen as a student before any specific job role. Whilst I hold several jobs with various companies, I have never worked full-time or left education for a sustained period, and so believe a music industry student is perhaps the most obvious classification.

My own perception of myself within the music industries has changed during my time at university. When I first joined, I had a few years’ worth of experience in relatively simple roles. However, now in my fourth year at university, I feel considerably more accomplished and professional. This may be in part due to the networking (Deuze 2007) – both through university and alongside it I have developed a solid professional network – primarily in cities I had never visited before (Birmingham and London). Networking I believe to be a true signifier of one’s position within the music industries. The amount of professionals you find yourself surrounded with should be a fairly strong indicator of your position within the industry – connectivity is a vital source of meaning to professional identity (Deuze 2007).

In terms of actual job roles, I would classify myself as working within the live sector of the industry as divided by Wikstrom (2009). I have worked and hope to build a career specifically within music festival production – with a secondary leaning towards social media promotion and artist booking. Once again, this explanation defies a specific named role – I feel this is a trend with music industry professionals – through my experience, I have found many workers tend to wear many hats; very few do solely one job.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bibliography

  • DeNora, T. (2000).Music in everyday life. 1st ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
  • Negus, K. (2004). Music genres and corporate cultures. 2nd London: Routledge.
  • Wikstrom, P. (2009). The Music Industry. 2nd London: Polity Press.

 

One thought on “Week 1 Blog 1: Placing yourself in the Industry

  1. The blog clearly spells out the personal journey of the writer and the strategies used to make effective progress in the music industry.
    In addition, the use of academic sources to place and put into context aspects of self-placement in the music industry is effectively done.
    A few more sources would have rounded off the blog even more. However, word count limitations obviously force bloggers to be concise and lean.

    Like

Leave a Reply

