Week 5 – Skills Audit

A plethora of scholars suggest that the music industry is becoming increasingly more fluid, the defined lines of each segment becoming rapidly more blurred, overlapping into each other to a point where inflexibility is not an option for the music industry professional, with the willingness to learn, adapt, and change a mandatory quality, with the quality of wearing many hats becoming a necessity rather than a speciality (Burgess, 2010; Brennan and Webster, 2011). As a freelance music journalist, popular music academic, radio presenter, and social media analyst, it is important to acknowledge the wealth of skills I have collated as a desire to progress in an ever-fluctuating industry and to constantly evaluate them against the specific areas of the industry I wish to integrate myself within. To simplify this particular audit, I will be evaluating my skills in relation to working as a press officer for a record label.

Creativity

Thinking – Having started my own online music journalism website, as well as being a freelance journalist, I view myself has having an already-honed creatively thinking mind-set. However, through undertaking modules such as Enterprise during my Master’s degree, I have developed methods of cultivating creative thinking such as Walt Disney’s Imagineering, in which you think in three stages: The Dreamer, The Realist, and The Critic. The process takes you from the biggest, wildest ideas to their realistic versions to their finalised, fit-for-purpose ready-for-the-world editions (LeBoeuf, 1980). Through processes such as these, it allows me operate in a role as a press officer in a unique way, in that it allows me to express my ideas imaginatively and thoughtfully when creating press releases and campaigns for bands.

Skills – On the flip-side to thinking, in a press officer role, a variety of creative skills are needed and throughout an education that has always featured media, I have become well accomplished in using a variety of editing software, particularly the Adobe franchise, including Audition (Audio), Photoshop (Photo), Premier (Video), InDesign (Magazines/Flyers), and Acrobat. I am also trained to use audio and visual recording equipment, which in a press officer role is an invaluable skill to have, as the technical prowess opens up new avenues of creativity in an ever-moving role.

Communication

Networking – Building structural and organisational networks of relationships is important, particularly within a press officer’s role, in improving effectiveness and sourcing innovation (van Aalst, 2003). Therefore, I feel confident in the network I have created and organised so far as a freelance journalist and editor of my website Bloggers Gamut. I feel as if my ability in networking in large groups of people could be improved, as my confidence in selling myself and crafting relationships in a short amount of time is low.

Writing – With press releases and emails at the very core of a press officer’s role, it is important that my writing is to a high standard. Having spent five years as a freelance journalist honing my craft and learning to write for different audiences with different styles, as well as going through A-Levels, a bachelors, and a masters, I feel as if my writing is at an appropriate level and becoming more structured and suitable.

Emails – Similar to writing, conducting emails are perhaps key to this role and I feel my skill in this is high, having held many important conversations across emails regarding various opportunities to progress my career.

 

 

Bibliography

Burgess, R. (2010). STRUCTURAL CHANGE IN THE MUSIC INDUSTRY: THE EVOLVING ROLE OF THE MUSICIAN. PhD. University of Glamorgan.

Brennan, M. and Webster, E. (2011) Why Concert Promoters Matter. Scottish Music Review. 2(1).

LeBoeuf, M. (1980). Imagineering: How to profit from your creative powers. New York: McGraw-Hill

van Aalst, H. (2003). Networking In Society, Organisations and Education. In: OECD, ed., Networks of Innovation: Towards New Models for Managing Schools and Systems, 1st ed. Paris: OECD Publications Service, pp.33-40.

 

Leave a Reply

